Topics:

  • Niklas has experienced a lot of anti-Semitism - even though he isn't Jewish. As a visitor attendant at the Jewish Museum, he meets a lot of prejudiced people, who seriously ask him if he's circumcised. Niklas makes the best of his situation - he's made new Jewish friends and found a new pet topic.

  • Gad couldn't wait to get out of Israel: too small, too expensive, too complicated. For the last six years, the musician has been living in Berlin – of all places. Like many young Israelis, Gad doesn't have a problem with the Nazi past. The past is forgotten, right?

  • Chaya lives on occupied territory in the West Bank. From Cologne, she's moved to a Jewish settlement, which, according to international law, is on Palestinian land. But Chaya has a different view. She wants to build a new life for herself there.

  • Chris runs two hostels – one in Jerusalem, the other in Ramallah. Between the two there's a checkpoint, barbed wire, people waiting in line. Chris wants to bring two cultures together, but he himself is driven to despair by the border every day. Why does he keep going?

  • Joujou stands up for love - on the internet, where hatred rules. Her Facebook page is called "Palestine loves Israel" and wants to overcome hostility in the Middle East in new ways. But how to succeed, with all the haters?

  • Sherry and Ori versus world politics. She is Iranian, he is a German Jew. They fall in love. But a quick visit to Ori's family in Israel? No way. Iran and Israel are enemies, after all. Even though the two nations have a lot in common, according to Sherry.

  • Samuel works as a vocal coach - in the army. For a long time, he's refused to become a soldier. But as an immigrant from Germany, he has to serve three years in the Israel Defense Forces like every man. What he really wants to do is become an opera singer.

  • Liad is gay and has just become a dad to twins. In Tel Aviv, that's perfectly normal. In Germany, his case would be the exception rather than the rule. That's one of the reasons Liad left Berlin after two years to return to Israel - because in Germany, his path to fatherhood is illegal.

Gad, 31

Gad is singer and producer in the band Dirty Honkers. Together with a Frenchman and a Canadian woman, he plays Electro-Swing using a saxophone and a joystick. To pursue his music, he moved from Israel to Berlin six years ago and has stayed there since. Israel was just too small for him. And too complicated.
Gads band: Dirty Honkers

Joujou, 32

Joujou is German-Palestinian. She launched a Facebook page where users discuss the conflict in the Middle East. “Palestine loves Israel” is a platform where stories of peace are posted – but a lot of harsh insults as well.
Joujous project: Palestine loves Israel

Liad, 40

Liad helped launch a start-up and has worked for Greenpeace Israel. He lived in Berlin for two years. Today he’s living in Tel Aviv and is raising twins with his boyfriend. His path to fatherhood is illegal in Germany.

Niklas, 25

Niklas studies history. He’s done all kinds of jobs, but none required him to explain himself as much as his job as visitor attendant at the Jewish Museum. He’s become an expert on Jewish life, even though he himself isn’t even Jewish.

Chaya, 23

Chaya grew up in Cologne and now lives in a settlement in the West Bank. According to international law, she’s living on Palestinian land, which is occupied by Israel. Chaya has a different view.
Chayas Blog: Die Siedlerin

Chris, 38

Chris considers himself Palestinian. He lives in Jerusalem and built the first ever hostel in Palestinian Ramallah. He commutes between the two cities and has to pass through an Israeli checkpoint every day. That annoys him.

Sherry,30 und Ori, 34

Sherry and her husband Ori love each other. No problem there. If only it wasn’t for politics: Sherry is from Iran, Ori is a Germany-born Jew, and part of his family lives in Israel. That means a quick visit to the grandparents isn’t really on.

Samuel, 27

Samuel initially never wanted to join the army. But as an immigrant from Germany he has to serve in the Israel Defense Forces, like almost every Israeli – when what he really wants to do is become an opera singer.
Samuels website: www.samuelberlad.com

ABOUT THIS PROJECT

At Tacheles, eight people from Israel, Germany and the Middle East come together. All protagonists work to dismantle borders and conventions. Every week, they discuss and film themselves on a shared topic. One protagonist chooses the subject, the others reply to his video – each from their point of view, with their background. 50 years after starting the German-Israeli relations, Germany, Israel and the Middle East have a lot to say to each other – and you can join the discussion, too. The result is Tacheles – a project of the ARD, produced by PULS, the youth programme of the Bayerischer Rundfunk/Bavarian State Broadcaster and the ARD radio studio in Tel Aviv.

STAFF

idea/concept/realization: Christine Auerbach, Johannes Berthoud, Torsten Teichmann, Christian Wagner
editor: Till Ottlitz
camera: Lukas Hellbrügge (camera/editing), Tatjana Sikorski (camera)
social Media/ online: Jens Milkowski, Bettina Dunkel
design: Ursula Brunthaller
frontend-development: David Zeidler
product owner blog: Jerry Manz

Themen:

  • Niklas hat schon viel Antisemitismus erlebt - und das obwohl er kein Jude ist. Denn als Besucherbetreuer im Jüdischen Museum begegnen ihm viele Menschen mit Vorurteilen, fragen oft ernsthaft, ob er beschnitten ist. Niklas macht das Beste draus - er hat neue jüdische Freunde und ein Lebensthema gefunden.

  • Gad wollte unbedingt weg aus Israel: zu klein, zu teuer, zu kompliziert. Seit sechs Jahren wohnt der Musiker ausgerechnet in Berlin. Mit der Nazi-Vergangenheit hat Gad, wie viele junge Israelis, kein Problem. Die Vergangenheit ist vergessen, oder?

  • Chaya lebt auf besetztem Gebiet im Westjordanland. Aus Köln ist sie in eine jüdische Siedlung gezogen, die nach internationaler Auffassung auf palästinensischem Land steht. Doch Chaya sieht das anders. Sie will sich hier ein Zuhause aufbauen.

  • Chris betreibt zwei Hostels - eines in Jerusalem und eines in Ramallah. Zwischen den beiden liegt ein Checkpoint, Stacheldraht, Warteschlangen. Eigentlich will Chris Kulturen zusammen bringen, dabei verzweifelt er selbst jeden Tag an dieser Grenze. Was treibt ihn trotzdem weiter?

  • Joujou arbeitet für mehr Liebe - ausgerechnet dort, wo der Hass regiert, im Internet. Ihre Facebook-Gruppe heißt "Palestine loves Israel" und will die Feindschaft im Nahen Osten auf neuen Wegen überwinden. Aber wie soll das gehen, bei den ganzen Hatern?

  • Sherry und Ori gegen die Weltpolitik. Sie ist Iranerin, er ist deutscher Jude. Sie verlieben sich. Aber einfach mal Oris Familie in Israel besuchen? Geht nicht. Iran und Israel sind schließlich Feinde. Dabei haben beide Völker erstaunlich viel gemein, sagt Sherry.

  • Samuel arbeitet als Gesangslehrer - bei der Armee. Er hat sich lange gewehrt, Soldat zu werden. Aber als Einwanderer aus Deutschland muss er wie jeder Mann drei Jahre zu den Israel Defense Forces. Dabei will er eigentlich Opernsänger werden.

  • Liad ist schwul und gerade Vater von Zwillingen geworden. In Tel Aviv ist er damit ganz normal. In Deutschland wäre er die absolute Ausnahme. Auch deshalb ist Liad nach zwei Jahren in Berlin zurück nach Israel gegangen - denn in Deutschland ist sein Weg zur Vaterschaft verboten.

Gad, 31

Gad ist Sänger und Producer der Band "Dirty Honkers". Zusammen mit einem Franzosen und einer Kanadierin macht er Electro-Swing mit Saxophon und Joystick. Für die Musik ist er vor sechs Jahren von Israel nach Berlin gekommen – und geblieben. Israel war ihm einfach zu klein und zu kompliziert.
Gads Band: Dirty Honkers

Joujou, 32

Joujou ist Deutsch-Palästinenserin. Sie  hat eine Facebook-Gruppe gegründet, auf der sich User über den Nahost-Konflikt austauschen. „Palestine loves Israel“ – eine Plattform, auf der Friedensgeschichten gepostet werden – aber auch harte Beleidigungen.
Joujous Projekt: Palestine loves Israel

Liad, 40

Liad hat ein Start-up mit aufgebaut und für Greenpeace Israel gearbeitet. Zwei Jahre lang hat er in Berlin gelebt. Heute lebt er in Tel Aviv und hat mit seinem Freund Zwillinge. Sein Weg zur Vaterschaft ist in Deutschland verboten.

Niklas, 25

Niklas studiert Geschichte. Er hat schon alle möglichen Jobs gemacht, aber in keinem musste er sich so häufig erklären, wie als Besucherbetreuer im Jüdischen Museum. Er wurde Experte für jüdisches Leben, obwohl er selbst gar kein Jude ist.

Chaya, 23

Chaya ist in Köln aufgewachsen und wohnt heute in einer Siedlung im Westjordanland. Nach internationaler Rechtsauffassung lebt sie auf palästinensischem Gebiet, was Israel besetzt hält. Chaya sieht das anders.
Chayas Blog: Die Siedlerin

Chris, 38

Chris fühlt sich als Palästinenser. Er wohnt in Jerusalem und hat das erste Hostel überhaupt im palästinensischen Ramallah gegründet. Zwischen den beiden Städten pendelt er und muss deshalb täglich einen israelischen Checkpoint passieren. Das nervt.

Sherry,30 und Ori, 34

Sherry und ihr Mann Ori lieben sich. Alles klar also. Wäre da nicht die Politik: Sherry kommt aus dem Iran, Ori ist in Deutschland geborener Jude, ein Teil seiner Familie lebt in Israel. Das bedeutet: Einfach mal die Großeltern besuchen - geht nicht.

Samuel, 27

Samuel wollte eigentlich nie zur Armee. Aber als Einwanderer aus Deutschland muss er wie fast jeder Israeli seinen Dienst bei den Israel Defense Forces ableisten -  dabei will er eigentlich Opernsänger werden.
Samuels Internetseite: www.samuelberlad.com

ÜBER DAS PROJEKT

Bei Tacheles treffen acht Menschen aus Israel, Deutschland und dem Nahen Osten zusammen. Sie alle eint, dass sie an Grenzen und Konventionen kratzen. Dass sie neue Lösungen für alte Feindschaften suchen. Jede Woche diskutieren sie zu einem gemeinsamen Thema, reden tatsächlich Tacheles. Ein Protagonist setzt das Thema, die anderen antworten auf sein Video. Jeder aus seiner Sicht, mit seinem Background. 50 Jahre nach Aufnahme der deutsch-israelischen Beziehungen haben sich Deutschland, Israel und der Nahe Osten so einiges zu sagen – und auch ihr könnt mitdiskutieren. Heraus kommt Tacheles – ein Projekt der ARD, produziert von PULS, dem jungen Programm des Bayerischen Rundfunks, und dem ARD-Hörfunkstudio in Tel Aviv.

TEAM

Idee/Konzept/Umsetzung: Christine Auerbach, Johannes Berthoud, Torsten Teichmann, Christian Wagner
Redaktion: Till Ottlitz
Kamera: Lukas Hellbrügge (Kamera/ Schnitt), Tatjana Sikorski (Kamera)
Social Media/ Online: Jens Milkowski, Bettina Dunkel
Design: Ursula Brunthaller
Frontend-Entwicklung: David Zeidler
Produktverantwortlicher Wordpress: Jerry Manz